Results of last nights local by-elections

Chertsey Meads and New Haw by election results

Thursday 27 September 2012 saw two newly elected councillors for the Runnymede wards of Chertsey Meads and New Haw.

Conservative, Peter Boast, is the new councillor for Chertsey Meads and Conservative, Mark Maddox, is the new councillor for New Haw.

Runnymede Council's Chief Executive and Returning Officer, Paul Turrell said: "Despite the incident on the A320 Guildford Road in Chertsey, electors turned out to vote for their ward councillors. We welcome the two newly elected councillors and look forward to both of them making their mark on council business."

There were five candidates for the Chertsey Meads ward and four for the New Haw ward, with the count held at Chertsey Hall, Heriot Road, Chertsey which started at 10pm ending at 11.30pm.

Full results:
Chertsey Meads ward:
Peter Boast, Conservative Party, 450 votes (Elected)
Chris Browne, UK Independence Party, 312 votes
Keith Collett (Crazy Crab), The Official Monster Raving Loony Party, 10 votes
James Scott, Labour Party, 312 votes
Andy Watson, Liberal Democrats, 34 votes

New Haw ward:
David Bell, Labour Party, 148 votes
Jennifer Coulon, Liberal Democrats, 54 votes
Mark Maddox, Conservative Party, 346 votes (Elected)
Graham Wood, UK Independence Party, 124 votes