Local News

David Hodge named CCN Conservative Group Leader

Surrey Leader David Hodge has been elected Leader of the Conservative Group on the County Councils Network (CCN). He will now go forward as the Conservative Group nomination for the Chairman of the County Councils Network at its AGM in September to replace the outgoing Chairman, Cllr Robert Gordon of Hertfordshire County Council.


Runnymede Council Chamber for the evening of Tuesday 13 November from 7,00 until 10.00pm,  a final opportunity for the people of Surrey to listen to and put their questions to all the candidates.   We would be grateful if you could publicise “The Runnymede PCC Debate” to all your supporters and all others who you are able to contact by email, telephone or any other means

Results of last nights local by-elections

Chertsey Meads and New Haw by election results

Thursday 27 September 2012 saw two newly elected councillors for the Runnymede wards of Chertsey Meads and New Haw.Conservative, Peter Boast, is the new councillor for Chertsey Meads and Conservative, Mark Maddox, is the new councillor for New Haw.Runnymede Council's Chief Executive and Returning Officer, Paul Turrell said: "Despite the incident on the A320 Guildford Road in Chertsey, electors turned out to vote for their ward councillors. We welcome the two newly elected councillors and look forward to both of them making their mark on council business."There were five candidates for the Chertsey Meads ward and four for the New Haw ward, with the count held at Chertsey Hall, Heriot Road, Chertsey which started at 10pm ending at 11.30pm.Full results:Chertsey Meads ward:Peter Boast, Conservative Party, 450 votes (Elected)Chris Browne, UK Independence Party, 312 votesKeith Collett (Crazy Crab), The Official Monster Raving Loony Party, 10 votesJames Scott, Labour Party, 312 votesAndy Watson, Liberal Democrats, 34 votesNew Haw ward:David Bell, Labour Party, 148 votesJennifer Coulon, Liberal Democrats, 54 votesMark Maddox, Conservative Party, 346 votes (Elected)Graham Wood, UK Independence Party, 124 votes